top of page

AUTHOR’S BIO                    


                                                      Gerald W. Darnell







A Florida native, Gerald grew up and attended high school in the small town of Humboldt, Tennessee.  Following graduation from the University of Tennessee, he spent time in Hopkinsville, KY, Memphis, TN, Boston, MA and Newport, AR before moving back to Florida – where he now lives.


Gerald worked as a Senior Manager with several Fortune 100 companies, before officially retiring in 2007. His non-fiction book, ‘Don’t Wake Me Until It’s Time To Go’, is a bio-narrative including humorous stories and events spanning his life from pre-high school to retirement.


His fiction books are what he calls ‘Fiction for Fun’. They use real geography and include pictures and characters some readers might recognize. The ‘Carson Reno Mystery Series’ are adventure mysteries set in the early 1960 time period, with the primary geography being Memphis and small southern towns. Core characters continue through each book, along with new and unique characters for each story.


During the early 70's the author worked from an office in the Memphis Peabody Hotel, so many of the events about the hotel in Carson Reno’s stories are real, as well as some of the characters you meet.


His books are available at selected bookstores, gift shops, on-line and through Amazon and Barnes and Noble .  e-books are available in Amazon’s Kindle, Barnes and Noble’s Nook, and most other formats.  Audio books at Audible and iTunes.


     Author's Books




 Murder in Humboldt

 Price of Beauty

 Killer Among Us

 Horse Tales

 the Crossing

 SUnset 4

 the Everglades

 the Illegals

 Dead Men Don't Remember

 Fingerprint Murders


 Justifiable Homicide

 Dead End

 Murder and More

 Deadly Decision

Shadows & Lies

 Concrete Jungle

 Murder my Darling

  Lack of Candor

  Disappearance of Robin  Murat

           Non Fiction

  Don't Wake Me Until Its

 Time to Go

bottom of page